Data Security

So today my first call of the day was a mobile number - I answered, and it was an automated messaged informing me that "this is the national insurance security and my assets are about to be frozen, and someone is coming around to arrest me as my national insurance number has been used inappropriately."

I am so bored of these calls, and as always I cancelled it and blocked the number. So then I got to thinking about how to really send data such as passwords securely and came across this website 1ty.me


1ty.me is free and provides one time self destructing links so you can safely share sensitive information such as passwords. This is the perfect way to share sensitive data such as login details.


About 1ty.me

1ty.me was created by the team at Apogee Invent out of necessity. Every day we have to give or receive sensitive data. Normally this is a big ordeal as sending such valuable information over email is insecure. So, we would split up our data, sending half by email and the other half by IM or phone. This was very time consuming for us, so we decided to create 1ty.me, a simple short URL service for viewing self-destructing notes.

1ty.me is a simple idea, destroying a note after reading it. This method has been used in countless spy movies (and one of our favourite cartoons: Inspector Gadget). But we decided to take it one step further by utilising encryption and SSL technologies found in many of our projects. The notes you give 1ty.me are so secure even we cannot read them! Now our lives (and our clients) are just a little bit better.


How secure is 1ty.me?

1ty.me runs only in HTTPS. Meaning any data transferred to or from the server is encrypted. All notes are encrypted before being stored on the server and only a portion of the key to decrypt is contained in the URL. This URL is not stored on the server, so only the link can decrypt the notes. Once the notes are viewed the encrypted notes are removed from the system. Pretty secure.

How are the notes stored before being read?

The notes are encrypted and put into a database. The URL is hashed so you cannot link a URL to a note directly.

Can I retrieve a note after it has been read?

No. It is removed from the system after being displayed once.

Can you read the notes?

No. The notes are encrypted using a key that is never stored on the server. Only the valid URL can display the notes. Once the notes are viewed the encrypted notes are removed from the system and the link cannot be viewed again.

How do I know the note has been read?

You may choose to enter your email address when creating a note to receive an email notifying you the note has been read. You may also enter a reference to keep track of the note if sending multiple URL's. The email address is encrypted in the same fashion as notes and deleted upon the note being viewed.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All